The Student Regulations Committee shall consist of:

  • Eight (8) members of the Academic Faculty, including at least four (4) tenured or tenure-track members;
  • Two (2) Undergraduate Students with at least junior standing selected by the Undergraduate Student Government Association;
  • One (1) Graduate Student selected by the Graduate Student Government Association;
  • Four (4) ex-officio members, without a vote: the Vice Provost for Undergraduate Education, the Vice Provost for Graduate Education and Faculty Development, the Dean of Students, and the Registrar, or their designees.

The Chair shall be elected annually by the Committee from among the elected Faculty members.  The Chair shall appoint the Secretary from among the remaining members of the Committee.

The Committee shall:

  • Conduct a comprehensive review, at least once every five years, of the Rules and Regulations section of the Georgia Tech Catalog for consistency and relevance of its provisions, making recommendations of any proposed changes to the Academic Faculty.
  • Originate or receive all proposed changes in or amendments to Institute policies and regulations pertaining to the student body, both graduate and undergraduate.
  • Review any proposed changes to determine whether they are in accord with this Handbook and make recommendations concerning proposed changes to the Academic Faculty.
  • Define and publish, with the approval of the Academic Faculty and the President, the official policy of the Institute concerning acceptable student conduct and academic integrity.  This policy shall define categories of offenses and penalties.