Appointed by the President, the Policy Steering Committee is the Institute body that oversees the development of Institute-level policies at Georgia Tech. It is a collaborative body that includes representatives from faculty, students, and staff. To reach the Policy Steering Committee, please contact the Institute Policy Manager (

The Policy Steering Committee is responsible for:

  1. Determining policy need & type, Academic or Administrative, and whether revisions are editorial or substantial.
  2. Reviewing and approving proposed Administrative policies and changes to current Administrative policy, as described in the Institute Policy Development and Life Cycle Process.
  3. Facilitating communication between Academic and Administrative policy stakeholders during policy review.
  4. Ensuring that there is an effective and appropriate communication plan in place to make the affected campus constituents aware of policy changes.

The Policy Steering Committee members are:

  • Secretary of Faculty
  • Chair, Faculty Statutes Committee
  • Assistant Provost for Administration, Academic Affairs
  • Assistant Vice President, Research Administration
  • Dean of Students
  • Undergraduate Student Body Representative
  • Graduate Student Body Representative
  • Registrar
  • Assistant Registrar
  • Senior Director, Employee Relations
  • Director, Talent Management
  • Chief Information Security Officer, OIT Information Security
  • Assistant Vice President, Administration and Finance
  • Vice President, Legal Affairs and Risk Management

The Policy Steering Committee charter can be found here.